Changing history with Git Rebase

I’m a huge fan of using Git rebase to clean up the development I do in SourceCred. I think this article has some pretty good materials on getting comfortable with rebasing, I recommend checking it out if you plan to commit to sourcecred/sourcecred.

https://git-rebase.io/

Hey, so I’m fairly new to Git but did the Udacity course previously on Kays suggestion which got me to a place where I could happily make PR’s on the Giveth wiki. I’m quite curious about this rebase feature having skimmed the link.

Whats the score there? By which I mean what are the use cases? - I gather its for cleaning up commit history when you don’t make periodic commits or need to add extra context to a commit? In SourceCreds case I can see the value in having a well cultivated graph of commits for sure, seems like a useful pattern so I appreciate these new tools. Thanks for sharing

I use git rebase all the time.

I like to keep an orderly, well-scoped sequence of commits as I work, where each commit has a very specific scope or change that it makes.

To use an example from my current hacking on timeline cred: I have a commit to improve PageRank performance, a commit that changes how the timeline seed vectors are computed, a commit that changes how the timeline charts are rendered, and so forth. The result is that it’s very easy to pull pieces out of my history and merge them separately. For example, the commit improving PageRank performance is not specific to timeline cred at all–I could merge it separately, thus enabling higher quality / clarity code review on that change in isolation, and reducing the review burden on someone reviewing my timeline work. (I review all my own code, so this saves me a lot of time and mental effort :slight_smile:.)

Suppose that I want to merge that PageRank performance commit separately. I’ll make a new branch off of origin/master:

$ git fetch
$ git checkout origin/master
$ git checkout -b pagerank-performance