Research Introductions: The Blockchain Governance Observatory (for Discord)

Hi everyone! I am a researcher at RMIT University (Melbourne, Australia). I work across RMIT’s Digital Ethnography Research Centre and the Blockchain Innovation Hub. I’ve been collaborating with Zargham, Josh, Kelsie, Primavera, Campbell and others to design and implement the ‘Blockchain Governance Observatory’, which is the tool for ethnographic research via Discord. We designed it as a means to do ethnographic research that is consent-driven and participatory. Really looking forward to working with SourceCred community as our first partnership!

Who are we? An interdisciplinary, international group of researchers developing new techniques for qualitative research into blockchain governance. The background is that I was introduced to Josh and Zargham who developed the Govbase dataset, which is a repository for information on blockchain governance that can be used to show trends across projects. Govbase is incredibly useful for showing how and where different types of tools and approaches are being deployed, or just for getting an overview of what’s out there (such as differences between DAOs), but there are some things that we can’t know from it. I came on board to look at how we can incorporate informal dynamics of blockchain governance into our datasets - the stuff that’s not hard coded through smart contracts or constitutions but might be shaped by them.